In New Hampshire, the divorce process begins with the filing of a Petition for Divorce. Petitions for Divorce may be found online at the New Hampshire Judicial Branch Website. Hard copies of Petitions may also be obtained by visiting your nearest Family Division location.
If you are filing a Petition for Divorce, you should be prepared to pay a filing fee at the time that you file your Petition. If children are involved in the case, the filing fee will be $252.00. If you do not have children, the filing fee will be $250.00. In certain circumstances, you may be able to successfully ask the Court to waive or reduce the requirement that you pay the filing fee. Whether you qualify to have the filing fee waived is something that you should ask about at your initial consult, as this determination is made by the Court on a case-by-case basis.
- A Little Planning Can Help Avoid Trust Accounting Disputes - 02/28/2021
- What To Bring To Your Divorce or Parenting Consultation - 02/27/2021
- Tips For Setting Up Your Family Law Consultation - 02/27/2021